Dixit Dominus - A. Scarlatti, Handel

Buy Now

Unfortunately we are currently unable to supply this CD. However, it is available from all good record shops and on-line retailers such as Amazon, and Presto Classical

The CD is also available to buy directly from Avie or The Choir of The Queen’s College, Oxford.

Dixit Dominus – A. Scarlatti, Handel


Release Date: May 2013

Following five critically-acclaimed and immensely popular recordings for AVIE, The Brook Street Band embark on their most ambitious project to date: a recording with the estimable student Choir of The Queen’s College, Oxford, that pairs for the first time ever the two settings of the Dixit Dominus written by Alessandro Scarlatti and George Frideric Handel.

Both works date from early 18thcentury Rome, Handel’s within a year of his arriving in the musical capital, and possibly influenced by Scarlatti’s work, though the date of the elder Italian’s composition is not precisely known. Indeed it has been suggested that the 22-year-old Lutheran was attempting to outdo Scarlatti with his masterly grasp of large-scale sacred music for the Roman rite.

In between these two grand Vespers, The Brook Street Band serve up a palette cleanser of an instrumental concerto in G minor by Scarlatti. On this recording the massed forces are joined by five of Britain’s brightest young singers: soprano Elin Manahan Thomas, mezzo-sopranos Esther Brazil and Sally Bruce-Payne, tenor Guy Cutting, and bass-baritone Matthew Brook

Alessandro Scarlatti, Dixit Dominus: Handel, Dixit Dominus HWV 232:
1 Dixit Dominus 12 Dixit Dominus
2 Virgam virtutis tuae 13 Virgam virtutis tuae
3 Tecum principium 14 Tecum principium
4 Juravit Dominus 15 Juravit Dominus
5 Dominus a dextris tuis 16 Tu es sacerdos
6 Judicabit in nationibus 17 Dominus a dextris tuis
7 De torrente 18 De torrente
8 Gloria Patri 19 Gloria Patri
Alessandro Scarlatti, Concerto No. 4 in G minor:
9 Allegro
10 Grave
11 Vivace

‘…an absolutely superb performance here from the Brook Street Band and the Choir of Queen’s College, Oxford. …everything about this album represents British Baroque performance at its best.’
James Manheim, AllMusic.com, July 2013, 5-star Rating

‘The playing of The Brook Street band is mouth-watering in its simple quality of musicianship, a standardard that is upheld throughout… A disc of unusually high calibre.’
Malcolm Hayes, Early Music Review, August 2013

‘…performances of the highest quality, with the Queen’s choir at its best and the alert instrumentalists fully committed in their playing… Highly recommended.’
David Ponsford, Choir & Organ, September 2013, 5-star Rating