Concert Archive

Wednesday February 7, 2018

Wednesday 7th February 2018

Handel House Museum private event
Friday 23rd February – Sunday 25th February 2018

Friday 23rd February - Sunday 25th February 2018

Muffat Festival, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

Venues & Dates

Friday 23rd February 2018

Friday 23rd February 2018

St. John's Smith Square, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

The German Violin School

The emergence of a new style of violin writing in Germany in the 17th century (under composers including Biber, Muffat and Schmelzer) was to have a profound impact on the rise of the violin as a solo instrument in this region. Sensual music for 1 and 2 violins, 2 violas and continuo written by tonight’s composers, from the South of the country, is typified by its florid and ornate style.

Muffat String Sonata No. 2 in G minor (Armonico Tributo)
Schmelzer Trio Sonata in E minor
Biber Sonata violino solo representativa in A
Schmelzer String Sonata No. 8 in G (Sacroprofanus Concentus Musicus)
Krieger Trio Sonata No. 10 in D
Biber Sonata No. 1 in B minor (Fidicinium Sacro Profanum)
Schmelzer String Sonata No. 7 in D (Sacroprofanus Concentus Musicus)
Krieger Trio Sonata No. 9 in G minor
Muffat Florilegium Primum No. 7 in G ‘Constantia’

Saturday 24th February 2018

Saturday 24th February 2018

St. John's Smith Square, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

An Introduction to Baroque Dance

Have you always wanted to know a little more about the relationship between baroque music and the dance steps that so often accompanied it, and were such an important part of courtly life in the 17th and 18th centuries?
Renowned Baroque dance teacher Philippa Waite leads a workshop suitable for all ages from 8 years upwards. No previous experience or partner required. The session will focus on basic steps found in typical dance types such as bourée, minuet, sarabande, gigue etc. as well as touching on the etiquette of the period.
Live music will be provided by members of The Brook Street Band.

 

Saturday 24th February 2018

Saturday 24th February 2018

St. John's Smith Square, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

Festival Talk: Muffat – his life, his music and his legacy

Tatty Theo presents an illustrated talk, exploring this rich period of political and musical change in 17th-century Europe that shaped and defined Muffat’s music.
Free admission with ticket for 7.30pm concert

 

Saturday 24th February 2018

Saturday 24th February 2018

St. John's Smith Square, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

All About the Dance

Following on from the morning’s exhilarating dance workshop, experience some of the wonderfully rich and joyous orchestral music for strings, flutes and recorders that was such an important part of life at French Courts and further afield.

Muffat Florilegium Secundum No. 2 in D ‘Splendidae Nuptiae’
Lully La Chasse from Ballet des Arts in G minor
Handel Suite in Bb HWV34 from Alcina
Fischer Le Journal du Printemps Op. 1 No. 3 in Bb
Bach Suite No. 2 in B minor BWV1067

 

Sunday 25th February 2018

Sunday 25th February 2018

St. John's Smith Square, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

The Italian Influence

An intimate chamber programme (for 1 and 2 violins and continuo) which explores the Italian influence on chamber music by Muffat and Handel, paired with works by Corelli, the pre-eminent Italian virtuoso violinist of the period.
Today we credit Corelli with providing the template for so many Italianate musical innovations in the baroque era. However, Muffat’s Italian-styled violin sonata of 1677 predates all of Corelli’s chamber music, and shows that Italian influence prevailed in Germany before Muffat even encountered Corelli.

Corelli Trio Sonata Op. 1 No. 1 in F
Muffat Violin Sonata in D
Handel Trio Sonata Op. 2 No. 3 in Bb
Corelli Trio Sonata Op. 3 No. 5 in D minor
Handel Cello Sonata in D minor
Corelli Trio Sonata Op. 1 No. 12 in D

 

Sunday 25th February 2018

Sunday 25th February 2018

St. John's Smith Square, St. John’s Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HA

The Concerto

What better way to end a festival than with a glorious programme of solo and orchestral concertos!
Muffat’s influence stemmed far and wide, incorporating both French and Italian style, and his hugely important legacy is beautifully illustrated in these wonderful works by composers far better-known than Muffat today, but who each owe him a huge debt of gratitude.

Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 BWV1048 in G
Handel Violin Concerto (Sonata a cinque) in Bb HWV288
Geminiani Concerto Grosso No. 12 in D minor (‘La Follia’; after Corelli Op. 5 No. 12)
Handel Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 10 in D minor
Muffat String Sonata No. 5 in G (Armonico Tributo)

 

Friday March 2, 2018

Friday 2nd March 2018

Cambridgeshire Music Live 2018

Thursday March 8, 2018

Thursday 8th March 2018

Cambridgeshire Music Live 2018

Friday March 9, 2018

Friday 9th March 2018

Cambridgeshire Music Live 2018

Friday March 16, 2018

Friday 16th March 2018

Cambridgeshire Music Live 2018

Saturday March 17th, 2018

Saturday 17th March 2018

All Saints' Church, Weston Green, Esher, Surrey KT10 8JL

Motets by JS Bach, Heinrich Schütz , and Orlando Lassus

Thursday March 22, 2018

Thursday 22nd March 2018

Cambridgeshire Music Live 2018

Friday 6th April 2017

Friday 6th April 2018

London Handel Festival

Wednesday April 18, 2018

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Cambridgeshire Music Live 2018

Saturday April 21, 2018

Saturday 21st April 2018

St. Paul's Church, Bedford Street, Covent Garden, London WC2E 9ED

Motets by JS Bach, Heinrich Schütz , and Orlando Lassus

Monday June 4, 2018

Monday 4th June 2018

The Great Barn, Oxnead Hall, Norfolk

Tuesday June 5, 2018

Tuesday 5th June 2018

Handel & Hendrix in London, 25 Brook Street, London W1K 4HB

Handel Violin Sonatas

This concert is the London launch of The Brook Street Band’s new recording for AVIE Records

Saturday July 7, 2018

Saturday 7th July 2018

Wymondham Abbey, Church Street, Wymondham, Norfolk, NR18 0PH

Purcell’s King Arthur

Sunday July 8, 2018

Sunday 8th July 2018

St. Andrew's Church, Gunton
Saturday July 14, 2018

Saturday 14th July 2018

Baconsthorpe, Norfolk Private event
Dartington International Summer School

Saturday 28th July - Saturday 4th August 2018

Dartington International Summer School, Dartington Hall, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 6EL

Saturday September 22, 2018

Saturday 22nd September 2018

Great Comp Music Festival

Wednesday 26th September 2018

Wednesday 26th September 2018

The Queen’s College Chapel, High St, Oxford, OX1 4AW

Saturday September 29, 2018

Saturday 29th September 2018

Shatwell Farm, Shatwell Lane. Yarlington, Somerset BA9 8DL

Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas
Conductor: Matthew Owens

Sunday October 14, 2018

Sunday 14th October 2018

St. George's Guildhall, King Street, King’s Lynn Norfolk PE30 1HA